History of the Hall of Fame

Created in 1993, the Landmarks of Excellence Communicators Hall of Fame was designed to honor local professionals who have made a lasting difference in the field of public relations and communications. The contributions of inductees are an attribute to the impact of the individual, working in a profession that serves many. The professional stature and ethics of every inductee welcomed into the Hall of Fame is and should be far above the norm.

Each recipient has achieved real results in his or her professional life and has repeatedly demonstrated exceptional talent, dedication, insight and commitment. This award is co-sponsored by the International Association of Business Communicators (Louisville chapter) and the Public Relations Society of America (Bluegrass Chapter).

The honoree must have:

A minimum of 15 years experience in the communications/public relations field

Demonstrated service to the community on a particular issue

Recognition as a role model

Record of mentoring other communicators/public relations professionals

Held a paid membership to IABC or PRSA

Previous honorees:

1993 – Charles B. Castner, Carrington W. Fox, John R. “Jack” Guthrie

1994 – William F. Loader, Charlotte S. Tharp, Rod Wenz

1995 – Calvin D. Anderson, Park Trammel

1996 – John V. Blalock, Joseph S. Deiss, J. Randall Neely

1997 – Robert B. Irvine

1999 – Dave Caudill

2000 – Hal Griffin

2001 – Dan Ison, Jeannie Litterst Vezeau

2002 – Linda McGinity Jackson, Richard F. “Rick” Mayes

2003 – Dan Hicks, Chip Keeling

2004 – Rebecca Simpson, Larry L. Smith

2005 – Dan Burgess, Philip J. Lynch

2006 – John Hindman, H.J. Bud Schardein

2007 – Rande Swann

2008 – Patti Hobbs, Tom Howell, William E. Thompson

2009 – Trish Burke

2010 – Marilyn Markwell

2011 – Dan Hartlage

2012 – Dr. Russ Barclay

2013 – CJ Parrish

2014 – No inductee

2015 — Matt Kamer